Our Mission

Our goal is to create a supportive culture where people with mental health conditions live openly and are valued.

We connect people to care and support, build awareness, and fight to make mental health a public priority.

Our History

Founded in 1909, Mental Health America (MHA) – with more than 200 affiliates across the United States – is the nation’s leading community-based nonprofit dedicated to addressing the needs of those living with mental illness and promoting the overall mental health of all Americans.

MHA was established by former psychiatric patient Clifford W. Beers. During his stays in public and private institutions, Beers witnessed and was subjected to horrible abuse. From these experiences, Beers set into motion a reform movement that took shape as Mental Health America.

In the early 1950s, Mental Health America issued a call to asylums across the country for their discarded chains and shackles. On April 13, 1953, at the McShane Bell Foundry in Baltimore, Md., MHA melted down these inhumane bindings and recast them into a sign of hope: The Mental Health Bell.

Board of directors

    • Chair
    • Dr. Jacintha Cauffield
    • Vice Chair
    • Dr. Jane Harris
    • Treasurer
    • Richard Bolko
    • Secretary
    • Harriet Freeman
  • Members
    • Alcolya St. Juste
    • Alex Hernandez
    • Andy McAusland
    • Paul Ward
    • Tammy Root
Kristina Baker
Kristina Baker
Recovery and Resilience Director kbaker@mentalhealthpbc.org
Brittany Barnes
Brittany Barnes
Director of Program Impact bbarnes@mentalhealthpbc.org
Alita Faber
Alita Faber
Support Director afaber@mentalhealthpbc.org
Abbe Giannoutsos
Abbe Giannoutsos
Helpline Coordinator agiannoutsos@mentalhealthpbc.org
Jeremy Morse
Jeremy Morse
Chief Executive Officer jmorse@mentalhealthpbc.org
Penny Oranburg
Penny Oranburg
Listen to Children Coordinator poranburg@mentalhealthpbc.org
Joseph Pergolizzi
Joseph Pergolizzi
Recovery Support Mentor jpergolizzi@mentalhealthpbc.org
Maryann Roman
Maryann Roman
Office Manager mroman@mentalhealthpbc.org
Loverly Sheridan
Loverly Sheridan
Campaign Director lsheridan@mentalhealthpbc.org